King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang (KMITL)

 In 1986, KMITL became a legitimate public university under a legislation called ''King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang Act'', which regulates its governance, administration and operation. Like other public universities in Thailand, KMITL is a government agency under the supervision of the former Ministry of University Affairs, which was merged with the Ministry of Education on July 7, 2003. At present, KMITL, like other public or autonomous universities, is under the supervision of the Commission on Higher Education affiliated with the Ministry of Education.
The name of the institute was derived from the name of King Rama IV. The royal grand crown seal has been graciously used as the emblem of the institute. The name "Chao Khun Taharn" has been used in honor of Chao Phya Surawong Waiyawat (Won Boonnak) of whom the heiress, Liam Prot Pitaya Payat, donated her own land to establish the institute. In 1977, the Faculty of Industrial Education and Science was established for offering fundamental courses for all faculties and for providing education and promoting research in science. In 1979, the Chao Khun Taharn Agricultural College, which was affiliated with the Department of Vocational Education, Ministry of Education, was transferred to KMITL, and became the Faculty of Agricultural Technology. The Computer Research and Service Center and the School of Graduate Studies were founded in 1981 and 1986, respectively. In 1988, the Faculty of Industrial Education and Science was separated into two faculties: the Faculty of Industrial Education and the Faculty of Science. In 1991, the Central Library was founded. In 1995, KMITL opened its first remote campus in Chumphon Province with 1,800 hectares of land in order to support the development of industry in the southern part of Thailand.
As information technology is of vital importance in our increasingly globalized and competitive world, in 1996, the Faculty of Information Technology was founded with the aim to provide higher education and research programs in information technology. In 2000, the department of Agricultural Industry within the Faculty of Agricultural Technology was endorsed to become the Faculty of Agroindustry.