University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB)

University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB) was formally established in 1972 following the union of UPCA with four other Los Baños and Diliman-based University of the Philippines (UP) units.
The university has played an influential role in Asian agriculture and biotechnology due to its pioneering efforts in plant breeding and bioengineering, particularly in the development of high-yielding and pest-resistant crops. In recognition of its work, it was awarded the Ramon Magsaysay Award for International Understanding in 1977. Nine research centers are recognized as Centers of Excellence by presidential decree.UPLB hosts a number of local and international research centers, including the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), ASEAN Center for Biodiversity, World Agroforestry Centre, and the Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA).
UPLB offers more than 100 degree programs in various disciplines through its nine colleges and two schools. As of October 2010 the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) has accredited eight academic units as Centers of Excellence and two as Centers of Development, giving UPLB the largest number of Centers of Excellence (research and academic units combined) among all universities in the country.
UPLB alumni have been recognized in a wide range of fields. They include 13 scientists awarded the title National Scientist of the Philippines, members of the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the winner of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize;Palanca Award winners; as well as political and business leaders.